Facts About Sweden - the Largest Country in the Nordic Region

Credit: Baltic Media

The largest country in the Nordic Region is also the one with the biggest population. For many, Sweden is synonymous with the production of high-quality cars, iron, and steel.
Inland lakes and large rivers cover almost 10% of Sweden's land mass. Despite the country's enormous coniferous forests, it still has 27,000 km2 of arable land.
Sweden is also the Nordic Region's most populous country, with around 9.1 million inhabitants, almost two million of whom live in the Stockholm area. The northern parts of the country are sparsely populated.
Sweden is a constitutional monarchy. King Carl XVI Gustaf has no real political power, and the parliament, Riksdagen, is the country's highest authority.
Sweden is a member of the EU but has retained the crown as its currency. The country is not a member of NATO.
Sweden is a major exporter of goods and services. The biggest exports are electronics, engineering, cars, paper, iron and steel.
Per capita GDP is € 28,200 (2006).
Total area (1): 447,420 km2
Lakes and streams: 40,080 km2
Arable land and gardens: 26,080 km2
Forests and plantations: 282,760 km2
Largest lake: Vänern 5,648 km2
Highest point: Kebnekaise 2,106 m
Coast line mainland: 11,530 km
National borders: 2,205 km (border to Finland: 586 km, to Norway 1,619 km)
Icecap and glaciers: 283 km2
Population February 2017: 10 014 873 inh.
Population density 01.01.14: 23.7 pop./km2
Population, capital 2016: 2 163 042 inh Stockholm (municipality) (2)
National day: 6th June (Swedish Flag's Day)
Form of government: Constitutional monarchy
Parliament: Riksdag (349 seats)
Membership of the EU: From 01.01.95
Membership of NATO: No
Head of State (as of September 2009): Kong Carl XVI Gustaf
Head of government (as of October 2014): Prime Minister [Stefan Löfven]
Currency: Swedish crown (SEK)
Official website: www.sweden.se
1) Incl. the largest lakes, but excl. the area from the coastline to the territorial boundary, 81,502 km2
2) Stockholm, Upplands Väsby, Vallentuna, Österåker, Värmdö, Järfälla, Ekerö, Huddinge, Botkyrka, Salem, Haninge, Tyresö, Upplands-Bro, Nykvarn, Täby, Danderyd, Sollentuna, Södertälje, Nacka, Sundbyberg, Solna, Lidingö, Vaxholm, Norrtälje, Sigtuna and Nynäshamn
Source: Norden